University of Toronto

Shelley Peterson Student Art Exhibition & Awards
Student Engagement in the Arts Awards
Get Involved
Opportunities in the Arts
About ArtsZone
new media
visual art

Student Engagement in the Arts Awards

The University of Toronto celebrates student engagement and leadership in art related initiatives annually with the University of Toronto Student Engagement in the Arts Awards (SEAA). This Award recognizes students who have made significant leadership and/or volunteer contributions to co-curricular arts activities at the University.

The SEAAs recognize undergraduate and graduate student work outside the classroom in the arts related activities. Previous recipients have been awarded for contributions through dance, theatre, curation, visual arts, and arts administration activities. Students from all three U of T campuses are eligible for these awards.

Awards will be presented at a reception at the Art Museum at the University of Toronto (St. George campus) on the evening of March 19,2019 - please mark this date your calendar. All nominees, nominators and supporters listed in the application form are invited to attend.

Nomination/Application Process & Information

2019 Selection Committee Members

  • Sandy Welsh, Vice-Provost, Students (Chair)
  • Donald Ainslie, Principal, University College
  • Barbara Fischer, Executive Director & Chief Curator, Art Museum University of Toronto
  • Michael Lettieri, Vice-Dean, Academic Experience, UTM
  • Don McLean, Dean, Faculty of Music
  • John Monahan, Warden, Hart House
  • Lynn Tucker, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Arts, Culture and Media, UTSC


Contact Cheryl Gibbs, Assistant Director, Office of the Vice-Provost Students at or 416.946.8522.

2019 SEAA Recipients

2018 SEAA Recipients

2017 SEAA Recipients

The University of Toronto SEAAs are generously supported through the Pillar Sponsorship Program by: